Back to Tennessee
Hawkins County, TN Probate Information

Quick facts
| Item | Hawkins County details |
|---|---|
| Court | Hawkins County Chancery Court. The county page says the Chancery Court probates estates, and the Clerk and Master files probate matters. Tennessee's chancery default is T.C.A. § 16-16-201. |
| Courthouse address | 100 E. Main Street, Suite 316, Rogersville, TN 37857 |
| Mailing address | 100 E. Main Street, Suite 316, Rogersville, TN 37857. The county labels this the mailing and physical address. |
| Phone | (423) 272-8150 |
| Fax | (423) 272-7347 |
| Hours | The Chancery Court and Clerk and Master page does not publish probate counter hours. Call before going to Rogersville. |
| Cost to start | Hawkins County's schedule effective January 1, 2026 lists $518.50 to open and close an estate with notice to creditors. The statewide probate estate clerk charge is $275 effective January 1, 2026 under 2025 Public Chapter 486, with taxes and costs added under T.C.A. § 8-21-401. |
| Hawkins forms | Yes. The county publishes an Oath of Personal Representative, Small Estate Instructions and Petition under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105, a Probate Claim Against Estate, a Request to Continue Form, and a Conservator Handbook. |
| Electronic filing | Available through Tybera/TNCIS for Hawkins County Chancery Court civil filings, which the county page says include probate matters. Whether use is mandatory or available to a person without counsel is not stated on the county page. |
| Records portal | hawkins.tncrtinfo.com is available, but the portal page does not state whether Chancery Court probate records are included. |
| Remote practice | The Hawkins page says court proceedings are presumed to be held in person at the court's discretion under Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 55, adopted June 8, 2023, and points readers to Local Rule 2.02. |
| Website | https://www.hawkinscountytn.gov/chancery_court_clerk_master.html |
Before you begin — know the assets and liabilities
Before you prepare a Hawkins County estate filing, list the probate assets, debts, beneficiaries, and whether the decedent left a will. This determines whether the case needs standard letters testamentary or letters of administration under T.C.A. § 30-1-117, or whether a small estate petition under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105 is even worth asking counsel about.
Sunset's estate settlement tools help you search across 2,300 institutions for accounts, benefits, and assets before papers are submitted to the Hawkins County Clerk and Master. That asset picture helps the attorney prepare the right packet, match the county's published forms, and avoid starting an estate settlement with missing financial information.
Which court handles jurisdiction
Tennessee law sends the estate to the court exercising probate jurisdiction in the county where the person lived at death, and the small estate definition of court uses that county of residence rule (T.C.A. § 30-4-102). In Hawkins County, the county's own Chancery Court and Clerk and Master page says the Chancery Court probates estates and the Clerk and Master files probate matters, consistent with the chancery default in T.C.A. § 16-16-201.
The Rogersville office serves Hawkins County estate filings. The county page also identifies the Chancery Court as part of Tennessee's 3rd Judicial District, serving Hawkins, Greene, Hamblen, and Hancock Counties, but probate filing remains a Hawkins County filing when the decedent lived in Hawkins County.
The jurisdiction process
- Confirm that the decedent lived in Hawkins County at death, identify the probate assets and debts, and determine with counsel whether the matter belongs in Hawkins County Chancery Court under T.C.A. § 30-4-102 and T.C.A. § 16-16-201.
- Use Hawkins County's published probate materials where they fit: Oath of Personal Representative, Small Estate Instructions and Petition under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105, Probate Claim Against Estate, and any local hearing paperwork the attorney needs.
- Because the Hawkins County page states that probate matters require attorney representation, speak with a Tennessee probate attorney before submitting a petition to the Clerk and Master.
- Submit the petition and supporting documents to the Hawkins County Clerk and Master at 100 E. Main Street, Suite 316, Rogersville, TN 37857, or through the county's Tybera/TNCIS electronic filing channel if counsel determines that it applies to the filing.
- Pay the required Hawkins County court costs. The county schedule effective January 1, 2026 lists $518.50 to open and close an estate with notice to creditors, while the statewide probate estate clerk charge is $275 effective January 1, 2026 under 2025 Public Chapter 486 and T.C.A. § 8-21-401, with taxes and costs added.
- If a hearing is needed, choose a date from the Chancery Court's published list and send a Notice of Hearing or letter to the Clerk and Master. Hawkins County says there are no docket soundings and that Chancery Court begins at 10:00 a.m.
- Plan for in-person court practice unless the court directs otherwise. Hawkins County says proceedings are presumed to be held in person at the court's discretion under Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 55, adopted June 8, 2023.
- After the court accepts the petition, obtain the correct authority document: letters testamentary if there is a will, or letters of administration if there is not, under T.C.A. § 30-1-117.
- Administer the estate after letters issue. The clerk handles notice to creditors under T.C.A. § 30-2-306, and the personal representative should work with counsel on required notices, any inventory under T.C.A. § 30-2-301, claims, accounting, distribution, and closing.
Forms and documents
Probate forms in Hawkins County
Tennessee's Administrative Office of the Courts does not publish one statewide probate packet for decedent estates. Hawkins County does publish local probate materials on the Chancery Court and Clerk and Master page.
| Form or resource | How Hawkins County labels it |
|---|---|
| Personal representative oath | Oath of Personal Representative (Probate) |
| Small estate packet | Small Estate Instructions and Petition under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105 |
| Creditor claim | Probate Claim Against Estate |
| Continuance request | Request to Continue Form |
| Conservatorship resource | Conservator Handbook |
The Hawkins page also states that probate matters require representation by an attorney, so use the local forms with legal counsel rather than treating the list as a do-it-yourself packet.
Fees
Hawkins County publishes a Chancery Court fee schedule captioned effective January 1, 2026. The statewide probate estate clerk charge is $275 effective January 1, 2026 under 2025 Public Chapter 486 and T.C.A. § 8-21-401, rising to $300 in 2027 and $325 in 2028, with state and local litigation taxes and other costs added under T.C.A. § 8-21-401. Hawkins County's total counter amounts are therefore higher than the statewide clerk charge.
| Hawkins County item | Published amount |
|---|---|
| Opening and closing estate with notice to creditors under T.C.A. § 30-2-306 | $518.50, effective January 1, 2026 |
| Muniment of title under T.C.A. § 32-2-111 | three hundred seventy-four dollars and fifty cents, effective January 1, 2026 |
| Small estate under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105 | three hundred seventy-four dollars and fifty cents, effective January 1, 2026, plus $5.00 effective January 1, 2026 when lodging an original will |
| Will contest | three hundred seventy-four dollars and fifty cents, effective January 1, 2026, with a $500 cash bond effective January 1, 2026 |
| Conservatorship and guardianship | three hundred seventy-four dollars and fifty cents, effective January 1, 2026, plus $52.00 per person effective January 1, 2026 when sheriff service is requested |
| Annual or interim settlement and order approving | $75.00, effective January 1, 2026 |
| Filing claim against estate | $50.00, effective January 1, 2026 |
| Filing exception to claim | $100.00, effective January 1, 2026 |
| Requests to sell real property, year's support, exempt property, insolvency, or interpretation | $200.00, effective January 1, 2026 |
| Request under mental health law | $149.50, effective January 1, 2026 |
| Copies | $0.50 per page, effective January 1, 2026 |
Timeline
- Hawkins County says Chancery Court has no docket soundings for these settings.
- To schedule a matter, select a date from the court's published list and send a Notice of Hearing or letter to the Clerk and Master.
- Chancery Court begins at 10:00 a.m. on the listed dates.
- Published 2026 dates include August 27, September 10, September 16 for uncontested matters only, September 23, October 2, October 20, October 27, November 5, November 12, November 19, December 9, and December 17.
- Before relying on any date, call the Clerk and Master because the county page does not publish probate counter hours and hearing calendars can change.
Local nuance
Hawkins County-specific considerations
| Local point | What it means for a Hawkins County estate |
|---|---|
| Attorney representation | The Hawkins County Chancery Court and Clerk and Master page states that, pursuant to local rules, probate matters require representation by an attorney. |
| Electronic filing | The county says its Electronic Filing System is available through Tybera/TNCIS for Chancery Court civil filings, including probate matters. The page does not state whether the system is mandatory for probate or whether a person without counsel may use it. |
| Hearing settings | The court says there are no docket soundings. A hearing date is selected from the published list and noticed by letter or Notice of Hearing to the Clerk and Master. |
| Remote practice | Hawkins County says proceedings are presumed to be held in person at the court's discretion under Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 55, adopted June 8, 2023. |
Recent updates
| Update | What changed |
|---|---|
| January 1, 2026 fee schedule | Hawkins County published a Chancery Court fee schedule effective January 1, 2026, including $518.50 effective January 1, 2026 to open and close an estate with notice to creditors under T.C.A. § 30-2-306, and three hundred seventy-four dollars and fifty cents effective January 1, 2026 for small estate matters under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105. |
| Statewide statutory fee change | 2025 Public Chapter 486 set the statewide probate estate clerk charge at $275 effective January 1, 2026, with increases to $300 in 2027 and $325 in 2028 under T.C.A. § 8-21-401. |
Page last reviewed: August 2026.
Scenarios
| Scenario | Likely Hawkins County path | Where Sunset helps |
|---|---|---|
| Surviving spouse w/ co-owned home | Start by confirming which assets actually need probate. If a Hawkins County estate must be opened, the Chancery Court filing goes through the Clerk and Master in Rogersville, and the county page says probate matters require attorney representation. | Sunset helps identify accounts, debts, and beneficiary designations before the attorney prepares the estate settlement filing. |
| Out-of-state adult child w/ small estate | Ask counsel whether the Hawkins County Small Estate Instructions and Petition under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105 is the right route. Hawkins County lists a small estate cost of three hundred seventy-four dollars and fifty cents effective January 1, 2026, plus $5.00 effective January 1, 2026 when lodging an original will. | Sunset organizes asset information remotely, then helps coordinate the packet and local attorney connection so the child does not start with incomplete information. |
| Parent settling predeceased child's estate, home must be sold | A sale of real property is a court-sensitive step. Hawkins County lists requests to sell real property at $200.00 effective January 1, 2026, and the local page says probate matters require attorney representation. | Sunset helps build the asset and debt picture, generate the estate settlement checklist, and connect the parent with a vetted Tennessee probate attorney. |
Self-help resources
| Resource | What it can do | Limit |
|---|---|---|
| Hawkins County Chancery Court and Clerk and Master | Provides the filing office address, phone, fax, local probate forms, hearing-setting instructions, electronic filing link, and the county's attorney-representation statement. | Court staff cannot choose forms or give legal advice. |
| Tennessee Judiciary self-help center | Directs estate and probate readers to the Clerk and Master in the proper county and links to statewide court resources. | The Judiciary states that court employees may not engage in the practice of law under T.C.A. § 16-3-804(b), including legal referrals, legal research, or legal advice. |
| Tennessee court clerks list | Helps confirm the proper county clerk office when venue under T.C.A. § 30-4-102 is uncertain. | It is a directory, not a substitute for local filing instructions. |
| Justice for All Tennessee | The Judiciary self-help page links to this statewide access-to-justice resource. | Check the site directly for current services before relying on it for a probate matter. |
When to hire an attorney
How Sunset helps
Find the accounts and assets. Sunset helps families identify accounts, policies, benefits, real estate leads, debts, and documents before the Hawkins County estate filing starts.
Generate the probate packet. Sunset organizes the information needed for the petition, local Hawkins forms, notices, and supporting documents so the attorney can prepare a cleaner filing.
Find a local probate attorney. Hawkins County says probate matters require attorney representation. Sunset helps connect families with a vetted Tennessee probate attorney who can work with the Clerk and Master in Rogersville.
Sunset is free for families. Families can use Sunset's estate settlement tools without paying Sunset, from the first asset search through attorney connection and next-step planning.
Frequently asked questions
Where do I file probate in Hawkins County?
Hawkins County's Chancery Court and Clerk and Master page says the Chancery Court probates estates and that the Clerk and Master files probate matters. The office is at 100 E. Main Street, Suite 316, Rogersville, TN 37857. Tennessee's chancery default is T.C.A. § 16-16-201, and venue for the county of residence is reflected in T.C.A. § 30-4-102.
Does Hawkins County require a probate attorney?
Yes. The Hawkins County Chancery Court and Clerk and Master page states that probate matters require representation by an attorney pursuant to local rules.
Does Hawkins County have electronic filing for probate?
Hawkins County says Electronic Filing System is available through Tybera/TNCIS for Chancery Court civil matters, and the same page says civil matters include probate matters. The page does not state whether electronic filing is mandatory or whether a person without counsel may use it, so ask the attorney and the Clerk and Master before relying on that channel.
How much does it cost to open an estate in Hawkins County?
The Hawkins County schedule effective January 1, 2026 lists $518.50 to open and close an estate with notice to creditors under T.C.A. § 30-2-306. The statewide probate estate clerk charge is $275 effective January 1, 2026 under 2025 Public Chapter 486 and T.C.A. § 8-21-401, with state and local litigation taxes and other costs added.
What Hawkins County probate forms are posted online?
The county posts an Oath of Personal Representative, Small Estate Instructions and Petition under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105, Probate Claim Against Estate, Request to Continue Form, and Conservator Handbook. Because Hawkins County says probate matters require attorney representation, use those forms through counsel.
How are Hawkins County Chancery Court hearings scheduled?
The county says there are no docket soundings. Select a date from the published Chancery Court list and send a Notice of Hearing or letter to the Clerk and Master. The page says Chancery Court begins at 10:00 a.m.
Are Hawkins County probate hearings remote?
Hawkins County says court proceedings are presumed to be held in person at the court's discretion under Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 55, adopted June 8, 2023. Rule 55 allows teleconferencing, video conferencing, or other technology at the court's discretion, but Hawkins County points readers to Local Rule 2.02 and its own in-person presumption.
Can I look up a Hawkins County probate case online?
There is a Hawkins County records portal at hawkins.tncrtinfo.com. The portal page does not state whether it includes Chancery Court probate records, so confirm coverage with the Clerk and Master before relying on it for an estate search.
Do I have to travel to Rogersville for a Hawkins County estate?
Plan around Rogersville unless your attorney confirms that a filing or appearance can be handled another way. The county offers Tybera/TNCIS electronic filing for Chancery Court civil matters, but the county page also says probate matters require attorney representation and that court proceedings are presumed to be held in person under Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 55, adopted June 8, 2023.
Shaped by the families we've helped
Thank you to the thousands of families who have trusted Sunset to help settle their loved ones' estates. This page is shaped by the questions they actually asked and the obstacles they actually hit — and that hard-won experience is what keeps it accurate, current, and genuinely useful to the families who come next.