Back to Tennessee
Coffee County, TN Probate Information

Quick facts
| Topic | Coffee County information |
|---|---|
| Court | Coffee County Chancery Court, 14th Judicial District. Coffee County's probate jurisdiction is in Chancery Court under the local operation of T.C.A. § 16-16-201. |
| Office | Coffee County Clerk and Master |
| Courthouse address | 300 Hillsboro Boulevard, 1st Floor Justice Center, Manchester, TN 37355 |
| Mailing address | 300 Hillsboro Boulevard, Box 8, Manchester, TN 37355 |
| Phone | (931) 723-5132 |
| Fax | (931) 723-8206 |
| Hours | Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. |
| Probate cost | Coffee County's January 1, 2026 cost schedule lists probate opening and closing with 3 letters at three hundred seventy-four dollars and fifty cents, effective January 1, 2026. That total includes the statewide $275 clerk's fee effective January 1, 2026 under 2025 Public Chapter 486 and T.C.A. § 8-21-401, plus listed state and local add-ons. |
| Forms | Coffee County publishes local probate forms, including forms for a small estate under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105. The county states that it does not provide petition and order forms for a general probate matter. |
| Electronic filing | Coffee County states that beginning August 8, 2022, all Chancery Court cases are submitted through Tybera's electronic filing website. The county page does not state a separate self-represented filer exception, so call the Clerk and Master before preparing a paper filing. |
| Case lookup | The Chancery Court page links to Court Dockets and Public Court Records tools. If you need a probate estate file, call the Clerk and Master to confirm whether that tool includes Coffee County Chancery probate matters. |
| Remote hearings | Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 55 (Rule 55), adopted by order filed June 8, 2023, allows teleconferencing or video conferencing at the discretion of the trial court. Coffee County does not publish a separate probate remote-appearance practice. |
| Website | coffeecountytn.gov/161/Chancery-Court and coffeecountytn.gov/162/Probate |
Before you begin — know the assets and liabilities
Before you open an estate in Coffee County, list the assets, debts, beneficiary designations, jointly held property, and anything that may not need probate. That asset picture tells you whether Coffee County Chancery Court needs a general probate petition, a small estate petition under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105, or no probate filing for a particular asset.
Sunset's estate settlement tools help families search across 2,300 institutions, organize known accounts and debts, and prepare for a focused conversation with the Coffee County Clerk and Master or a probate attorney.
Which court handles jurisdiction
Coffee County probate filings are handled at the Justice Center in Manchester. Coffee County's own probate page states that the Chancery Court for the 14th Judicial District has handled estate administration since 1980 and that all petitions to administer an estate or probate a will must now be filed in Chancery Court.
Tennessee sends an estate to the court exercising probate jurisdiction in the county where the person lived at death (T.C.A. § 30-4-102). In Coffee County, that court is the Coffee County Chancery Court and the filing office is the Coffee County Clerk and Master, consistent with T.C.A. § 16-16-201.
The jurisdiction process
- Identify the Coffee County path before drafting. If the estate is a full administration, Coffee County says it does not provide petition and order forms for a general probate matter. If the estate qualifies for the small estate process under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105, use the Coffee County forms for that process.
- Prepare the verified petition and supporting documents. For a will or full administration, Tennessee uses letters testamentary or letters of administration under T.C.A. § 30-1-117. For a small estate, Tennessee uses limited letters under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105.
- Submit the papers to the Coffee County Clerk and Master at 300 Hillsboro Boulevard, 1st Floor Justice Center, Manchester. Coffee County's electronic filing page says Chancery Court cases have used Tybera electronic filing since August 8, 2022. Call the Clerk and Master if you are unsure whether you may use paper filing.
- Pay the Coffee County probate opening cost. The county's January 1, 2026 schedule lists probate opening and closing with 3 letters at three hundred seventy-four dollars and fifty cents, effective January 1, 2026, including the statewide $275 clerk's fee effective January 1, 2026 under 2025 Public Chapter 486 and T.C.A. § 8-21-401, plus listed state and local add-ons.
- Follow the notice path for the type of probate. In a regular estate, the clerk gives notice to creditors after letters issue, and creditor timing is governed by T.C.A. § 30-2-306. In a small estate under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105, the different creditor rule is part of the statewide small estate process.
- Ask the Clerk and Master how the Chancery Court sets any required hearing. Coffee County does not publish a probate hearing calendar or ordinary wait time on the probate page.
- Ask before planning to appear remotely. Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 55 (Rule 55), adopted by order filed June 8, 2023, says remote court technology is permitted at the discretion of the trial court. Coffee County does not publish a separate probate remote-appearance rule.
- After the court approves the petition, obtain the correct authority document from the Clerk and Master. Tennessee calls the authority letters testamentary when there is a will and letters of administration when there is not (T.C.A. § 30-1-117).
- Administer and close the estate. Track the inventory duty under T.C.A. § 30-2-301, creditor notice under T.C.A. § 30-2-306, and any Coffee County local requirements, including the county's stated TennCare release requirement tied to T.C.A. § 71-5-116.
Executor duties
Coffee County adds one local operational point to the statewide duties: its probate page states that a TennCare release is required for all probated estates in Coffee County, regardless of the decedent's age. That local step connects to the statewide TennCare notification and recovery framework under T.C.A. § 71-5-116.
Coffee County also publishes a Probate Status Report form. Use it if the Clerk and Master directs you to do so during estate settlement.
Forms and documents
Probate forms in Coffee County
Tennessee's Administrative Office of the Courts does not publish a statewide probate form set. Coffee County does publish local probate forms through the county Forms page, and its probate page directs families to local procedures in Chancery Court.
Coffee County's local forms include Claim Against Estate, Consent to Serve and Waiver of Bond, Fiduciary Oath, Notice to Creditors, Annual Accounting materials, Probate Status Report, Agent Appointment by Nonresident Fiduciary, and several small estate forms under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105, including a Petitioner Oath for a Small Estate, forms for a Small Estate Petition with Will and Small Estate without Will, an Order Allowing Small Estate With Will, and a Small Estate Consent and Waiver Form.
The county's probate page also states an important limit: the court does not provide petition and order forms for a general probate matter. If you need a full administration rather than a Coffee County small estate packet under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105, plan to draft the petition carefully or work with counsel.
Fees
Coffee County publishes a Chancery Court cost schedule effective January 1, 2026. For probate opening and closing with 3 letters, the listed total is three hundred seventy-four dollars and fifty cents, effective January 1, 2026.
That Coffee County total is built on the statewide $275 clerk's fee effective January 1, 2026 under 2025 Public Chapter 486 and T.C.A. § 8-21-401. The same public chapter sets the fee at $300 on January 1, 2027 and $325 on January 1, 2028. State and local litigation taxes and other listed add-ons are charged above the statutory base under T.C.A. § 8-21-401.
The county's schedule states that its January 1, 2026 probate total includes state and county litigation tax, state indigent fund tax, courthouse security fee, jail building tax, and a processing item. Ask the Clerk and Master about payment method limits and any card-processing surcharge before filing.
Local nuance
Coffee County-specific considerations
| Local point | What it means in Coffee County |
|---|---|
| Chancery probate | Coffee County's probate jurisdiction is in Chancery Court under T.C.A. § 16-16-201. The county probate page says estate administration has been handled by the Chancery Court for the 14th Judicial District since 1980. |
| Electronic filing | Coffee County says all Chancery Court cases have used Tybera electronic filing since August 8, 2022. The county page does not state whether self-represented filers have a different option, so call before relying on paper filing. |
| Local probate forms | Coffee County publishes several probate forms, including small estate forms under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105, but it states that it does not provide petition and order forms for a general probate matter. |
| TennCare release | The county probate page states that a TennCare release is required for all probated estates in Coffee County, regardless of age. TennCare recovery is tied to T.C.A. § 71-5-116. |
Recent updates
| Date | Local change | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| January 1, 2026 | Coffee County's Chancery Court cost schedule took effect and lists probate opening and closing with 3 letters at three hundred seventy-four dollars and fifty cents, effective January 1, 2026. The statewide base is the $275 clerk's fee effective January 1, 2026 under 2025 Public Chapter 486 and T.C.A. § 8-21-401. | Confirm the total with the Clerk and Master before filing, especially if paying by card. |
| August 8, 2022 | Coffee County states that all Chancery Court cases are submitted through Tybera electronic filing beginning August 8, 2022. | Review the Coffee County E-Filing page and call the Clerk and Master if you are filing without a lawyer. |
Scenarios
| Situation | Likely Coffee County path | Where Sunset helps |
|---|---|---|
| Surviving spouse with co-owned home | Confirm the deed, beneficiary designations, and probate assets before opening a Chancery Court estate. If letters testamentary or letters of administration are needed, the petition goes through the Coffee County Clerk and Master under T.C.A. § 30-1-117. | Sunset helps organize assets and debts so the spouse can decide what actually needs estate settlement in Coffee County. |
| Out-of-state adult child with small estate | Review Coffee County's small estate forms under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105 and call the Clerk and Master about electronic filing through Tybera. If the online process is not available to you, ask how the office wants the papers submitted. | Sunset helps gather account information and can connect the child with a local probate attorney if travel or signatures become difficult. |
| Parent settling predeceased child's estate, home must be sold | Because a home sale can require court authority beyond a small estate under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105, ask the Clerk and Master or a probate attorney what petition is needed before listing the property. Coffee County does not provide petition and order forms for a general probate matter. | Sunset helps locate accounts, assemble documents, and make the attorney handoff more efficient. |
Self-help resources
| Resource | How it helps | Contact |
|---|---|---|
| Coffee County Clerk and Master | The first local stop for Coffee County probate procedures, forms, costs, and filing questions. Court staff cannot choose forms for you or give legal advice. | 300 Hillsboro Boulevard, 1st Floor Justice Center, Manchester, TN 37355. Phone: (931) 723-5132. |
| Coffee County probate and forms pages | Use the county probate page for local requirements and the Forms page for published probate forms. | coffeecountytn.gov/162/Probate and coffeecountytn.gov/205/Forms |
| Tennessee courts self-help center | The statewide self-help page directs most estate and probate questions to the county Clerk and Master. It also states that court employees may not engage in the practice of law under T.C.A. § 16-3-804. | tncourts.gov/programs/self-help-center |
| Legal Aid Society of Middle Tennessee and the Cumberlands | The organization lists a Tullahoma office serving Coffee County and describes free legal help. Call first for an appointment and to ask whether your estate issue is within its services. | Statewide: 1-800-238-1443. Tullahoma office: 931-455-7000. |
When to hire an attorney
A Coffee County probate attorney makes sense when the will is disputed, family members disagree, the estate owns real property that must be sold, creditors are unclear, a TennCare issue may arise under T.C.A. § 71-5-116, or the county's electronic filing process is hard to navigate from out of town. Sunset connects families with a vetted Tennessee probate attorney.
How Sunset helps
Find the accounts and assets. Sunset helps families identify accounts, insurance, retirement assets, debts, and other property that may affect Coffee County estate settlement.
Generate the probate packet. Sunset helps organize the information a Coffee County petition usually needs, then points you to the county's local forms and the questions to confirm with the Clerk and Master.
Find a local probate attorney. If a general probate petition, home sale, dispute, or TennCare issue under T.C.A. § 71-5-116 needs legal help, Sunset can connect you with a vetted Tennessee probate attorney.
Sunset is free for families. Families can use Sunset's estate settlement tools without paying Sunset.
Frequently asked questions
Where do I file probate in Coffee County?
File Coffee County probate papers with the Coffee County Clerk and Master for the Coffee County Chancery Court at the Justice Center in Manchester. Coffee County's probate jurisdiction is in Chancery Court under T.C.A. § 16-16-201, and Tennessee sends the estate to the county where the person lived at death under T.C.A. § 30-4-102.
Does Coffee County use electronic filing for probate?
Coffee County states that all Chancery Court cases have used Tybera electronic filing since August 8, 2022. The county page does not state whether self-represented filers have a separate option, so call the Clerk and Master before preparing a paper filing.
How much does it cost to open a Coffee County probate estate?
Coffee County's schedule lists probate opening and closing with 3 letters at three hundred seventy-four dollars and fifty cents, effective January 1, 2026. That total includes the statewide $275 clerk's fee effective January 1, 2026 under 2025 Public Chapter 486 and T.C.A. § 8-21-401, plus listed state and local add-ons.
Does Coffee County publish probate forms?
Yes. Coffee County publishes local probate forms, including small estate forms under T.C.A. §§ 30-4-101 to 30-4-105, fiduciary forms, accounting materials, a claim form, and a Probate Status Report. The county also states that it does not provide petition and order forms for a general probate matter.
Can I look up Coffee County probate cases online?
The Coffee County Chancery Court page links to Court Dockets and Public Court Records tools. If you need a probate estate file, call the Clerk and Master to confirm whether the online tool includes Coffee County Chancery probate matters.
Can I attend a Coffee County probate hearing by phone or video?
Tenn. Sup. Ct. R. 55 (Rule 55), adopted by order filed June 8, 2023, permits teleconferencing and video conferencing at the discretion of the trial court. Coffee County does not publish a separate probate remote-appearance practice, so ask the Clerk and Master before assuming a remote option is available.
What authority document does Coffee County issue after probate is opened?
Tennessee calls the personal representative's authority letters testamentary when there is a will and letters of administration when there is not, under T.C.A. § 30-1-117. The Coffee County Clerk and Master issues the appropriate letters after the Chancery Court process allows them.
Do I have to travel to Manchester for Coffee County probate?
Not always. Coffee County uses Tybera electronic filing for Chancery Court cases, but the county page does not state a self-represented filer exception or a complete remote process. Call the Clerk and Master before you travel, especially if you live outside Tennessee.
Shaped by the families we've helped
Thank you to the thousands of families who have trusted Sunset to help settle their loved ones' estates. This page is shaped by the questions they actually asked and the obstacles they actually hit — and that hard-won experience is what keeps it accurate, current, and genuinely useful to the families who come next.