Back to West Virginia
Cabell County, WV Probate Information

Quick facts
| Topic | Cabell County detail |
|---|---|
| Probate authority | Cabell County Commission, with probate jurisdiction under W. Va. Code § 7-1-3. |
| Filing office | Cabell County Clerk's office, probate. |
| Courthouse address | Cabell County Courthouse, 750 5th Avenue, Suite 108, Huntington, WV 25701. The clerk's estate FAQ directs probate appointments to room 106. |
| Mailing address | Same as the street address: 750 5th Avenue, Huntington, WV 25701. The county publishes no P.O. box. |
| Phone | (304) 526-8627 for probate. The clerk's general line is (304) 526-8625. |
| Fax | (304) 526-8632. |
| [email protected]. | |
| Hours | Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. An appointment is required to open an estate. The county publishes a walk-in window from 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., and you should confirm the appointment time when you call. |
| Opening charges | No statewide probate filing fee under W. Va. Code § 59-1-10. The Cabell County Clerk's office publishes, current as of August 2026, a $37.00 appointment fee, $12.00 to record the first five pages of the will, $1.00 for each additional page, $2.50 for each letters of administration, $12.00 if a bond is required, $12.00 when the appraisement and settlement forms are filed, $12.00 at final settlement, and a $20.00 notice to creditors publication fee under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a(g). |
| Local forms | Yes. The Cabell County Clerk's office publishes an appointment packet, the estate appraisement and nonprobate inventory, a creditor claim form, an affidavit for small estate under W. Va. Code § 44-1A-2, and a declination to act. |
| Online filing | No e-filing for probate with the Cabell County Clerk. Estate papers are filed on paper, although Cabell asks you to return its appointment worksheet by mail or email before you come in. |
| Estate lookup | No statewide estate case search through the county clerk system. Cabell publishes its own online county clerk index at recordscabellcountyclerk.org with an estates index that includes wills, appraisements under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14, probate appointments, and estate claims under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a. WVPASS searches circuit court records and does not contain estate files. |
| Phone or video participation | Most Cabell County estates are handled at the county clerk counter with no hearing. If an estate is referred to a fiduciary commissioner under W. Va. Code § 44-3 or an objection is filed, ask the Cabell County Clerk at (304) 526-8627 whether phone or video participation is available. |
| Website | https://www.cabellcountyclerk.org/departments/probate/index.php |
Before you begin — know the assets and liabilities
Before you call Cabell County's probate line, make a practical inventory of what the person owned and owed. Cabell's appointment worksheet asks for approximate values for property in the deceased person's name, whether jointly or individually owned, plus real estate in any West Virginia county, including oil, gas, and mineral royalties. That same asset picture affects the bond under W. Va. Code § 44-1-8 and the appraisement due under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14.
Sunset's estate settlement tools help with that first asset-discovery step by searching more than 2,300 institutions, organizing what you find, and turning it into the information you need for Cabell's appointment packet, ET 6.01 under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14, and ET 6.02 under W. Va. Code § 11-11-7.
Which court handles jurisdiction
Cabell County estates are opened at the Cabell County Clerk's office in the Cabell County Courthouse in Huntington. The same counter serves Cabell County communities including Huntington, Barboursville, Milton, Culloden, Ona, Salt Rock, Lesage, and Pea Ridge.
An estate is opened where the person lived. W. Va. Code § 41-5-4 puts the will before the county commission of the county where the decedent had a known place of residence at death, and W. Va. Code § 44-1-4 puts an intestate estate in the same place. If the decedent lived in Cabell County, you file with the Cabell County Clerk in Huntington. If a nonresident decedent owned West Virginia real estate, Cabell's appointment packet says ancillary administration may be done by mail, using the West Virginia real estate routes in W. Va. Code § 44-1-4 and W. Va. Code § 41-5-13.
The jurisdiction process
- Identify the assets, debts, heirs, and beneficiaries before you call. Cabell's worksheet asks for the decedent's Social Security number, spouse information, children from any marriage or relationship, approximate values for probate and nonprobate assets, and any West Virginia real estate, including oil, gas, and mineral royalties. This is the foundation for estate settlement, the bond under W. Va. Code § 44-1-8, and the appraisement under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14.
- Download Cabell's appointment packet, Procedures for Probating Estates, posted March 2025. Cabell asks you to complete the worksheet and return it before the appointment by mail to 750 5th Avenue, Huntington, WV 25701, or by email to [email protected].
- Call the Cabell County Clerk's probate line at (304) 526-8627. Cabell says an appointment is required to open an estate, and it also publishes a walk-in window from 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Confirm the appointment time when you call.
- Bring the required items to the Cabell County Clerk's office at 750 5th Avenue, Suite 108, Huntington. Cabell asks for the original will, a death certificate, the decedent's Social Security number, photo identification, the names and addresses of all beneficiaries and heirs, the completed worksheet, and the fees. The clerk's estate FAQ directs probate appointments to room 106.
- If there is no will, apply within the intestate appointment order Cabell publishes and the timing rule in W. Va. Code § 44-1-4. Cabell's packet says that for the first 30 days from the death, only an heir may be appointed, and after 30 days any person or creditor may apply. The County Clerk appoints the administrator, and the commission confirms the clerk's action under W. Va. Code § 7-1-3 and W. Va. Code § 41-5-10.
- Arrange bond if it is required. Under W. Va. Code § 44-1-6 and § 44-1-8, bond is required unless excused. Cabell publishes that bond is necessary when there is no will, when the person being appointed is not named in the will to serve, or when the will has no bond clause. Cabell accepts a real estate bond or a corporate bond. Cabell's March 2025 packet says the corporate bond premium begins at $100.00, based on the value of probate assets, and the bond amount equals the probate assets, with real estate left out unless it is being sold.
- Qualify as personal representative. The Cabell County Clerk admits the will to record and appoints the executor or administrator under W. Va. Code § 41-5-10 and W. Va. Code § 44-1-4. At qualification, you take the oath, deal with bond under W. Va. Code § 44-1-8 if needed, and receive a certificate of qualification, the letters testamentary or letters of administration that banks and transfer agents use. Cabell charges $2.50 for each letters of administration, current as of August 2026, so get enough certified copies for the institutions you need to contact.
- File the appraisement and nonprobate inventory. Cabell states that you have 90 days to complete the appraisement and settlement forms, including one ET 6.01 under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14 and one ET 6.02 under W. Va. Code § 11-11-7. Cabell's current charge as of August 2026 is $12.00 when the appraisement and settlement forms are filed.
- Handle publication and notices. Cabell says the clerk's office publishes the notice to creditors and beneficiaries and the notice to close the estate. The $20.00 publication fee is the county's current charge as of August 2026 and is also the fee described in W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a(g). Cabell says the executor or administrator is responsible for supplying the notice to heirs, beneficiaries, and known creditors, matching the mailing duties in W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a(c) and (d).
- Address claims. Cabell says there is a mandatory 60-day claim period after the notice under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a. The county's current charge is $12.00 for the first five pages of a probate claim effective March 1, 2025, and $12.00 for the first five pages of a probate release effective May 8, 2025.
- Close the estate. Cabell says that after the claims period expires and no creditor claims are pending, you can close with a waiver of final settlement under W. Va. Code § 44-2-29 or a final accounting. Cabell says both documents can be obtained from the office, and its current charge as of August 2026 is $12.00 at final settlement, plus $1.00 for each page after five.
- If the estate is referred, expect added time and cost. Cabell publishes fiduciary commissioners, and a referred estate goes to a fiduciary commissioner under W. Va. Code § 44-3. Cabell says referral adds about 30 days. In an article 2 estate, W. Va. Code § 44-2-1 uses a $200,000 threshold, current as of August 2026, for proceeding without reference in the circumstances described there, and W. Va. Code § 44-2-1(a) caps a fiduciary commissioner's fee at $300 plus expenses, current as of August 2026, unless the personal representative agrees to more or the county commission has adopted a schedule under W. Va. Code § 59-1-9.
Executor duties
| Local duty | Cabell County instruction |
|---|---|
| Complete the worksheet before the appointment | Cabell asks families to complete the enrollment worksheet and return it by mail or email before the probate appointment. It asks for family information, addresses, and a split of probate and nonprobate assets. |
| Bring the original papers | Cabell asks for the original will, a death certificate, the decedent's Social Security number, photo identification, beneficiary and heir addresses, and the fees. If a will was probated in another state, Cabell asks for an authenticated copy with triple certification. |
| Bring the surety if bond is required | Cabell says a real estate surety must come to the probate office and sign before a deputy clerk. If the property is in another county, Cabell asks for a justification of surety from that county clerk. Bond is governed by W. Va. Code § 44-1-8. |
| File both inventory forms | Cabell requires the appraisement, ET 6.01 under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14, and the nonprobate inventory, ET 6.02 under W. Va. Code § 11-11-7, within 90 days of qualification under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14. |
| Mail the notice after Cabell publishes it | Cabell says the clerk publishes the legal advertisements, but the executor or administrator must supply the notice to heirs, beneficiaries, and known creditors under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a. |
| Use the county's closing paperwork | Cabell says the waiver of final settlement under W. Va. Code § 44-2-29 or the final accounting can be obtained from the office, and that heirs sign the waiver before a notary. |
| Finish real-estate estates carefully | Cabell warns that if the decedent owned real estate, finishing the estate settlement can matter to clear title and to release sale money held by a bank or title attorney. |
Forms and documents
Probate forms in Cabell County
Cabell County is a local-forms county. The Cabell County Clerk's office publishes five probate items on its forms page: an appointment packet, the estate appraisement and nonprobate inventory, a creditor claim form, an affidavit for small estate under W. Va. Code § 44-1A-2, and a declination to act.
| Form or packet | How Cabell uses it |
|---|---|
| Procedures for Probating Estates | Cabell's March 2025 appointment packet explains what to bring, asks you to complete a worksheet before the appointment, and says to mail or email it to the probate office before you come in. |
| Estate appraisement and nonprobate inventory | Cabell links the West Virginia State Tax Department forms. ET 6.01 is the appraisement under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14, and ET 6.02 is the nonprobate inventory under W. Va. Code § 11-11-7. |
| Creditor claim | Cabell's sworn claim form is used by a creditor in an estate. Cabell charges $12.00 for the first five pages of a claim effective March 1, 2025, and the claim process sits within W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a and article 2 claim practice. |
| Affidavit for small estate | Cabell publishes an affidavit form for the W. Va. Code § 44-1A-2 small estate route. The statewide rule under W. Va. Code § 44-1A is that the route is not available if the decedent owned probate real estate after July 9, 2025, and the personal-property limit is $50,000, current as of August 2026 under W. Va. Code § 44-1A-1(b)(4). |
| Declination to act | Used when a person named to serve declines appointment. |
Cabell does not publish a separate printable checklist or closing form on its website. The county says the waiver of final settlement under W. Va. Code § 44-2-29 and the final accounting can be obtained from the Cabell County Clerk's office.
Fees
West Virginia has no statewide probate filing fee under W. Va. Code § 59-1-10. What you pay the Cabell County Clerk is a set of recording and appointment charges, plus publication under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a, closing charges under W. Va. Code § 44-2, any bond premium under W. Va. Code § 44-1-8, and any fiduciary commissioner cost under W. Va. Code § 44-3 and § 44-2-1.
| Charge | Amount and date |
|---|---|
| Appointment | $37.00, current as of August 2026. |
| Will recording | $12.00 for the first five pages and $1.00 for each additional page, current as of August 2026. |
| Letters of administration | $2.50 each, current as of August 2026. |
| Bond filing with the clerk | $12.00 if a bond is required, current as of August 2026. Bond is governed by W. Va. Code § 44-1-8. |
| Corporate bond premium | Cabell's March 2025 packet says the premium begins at $100.00, based on probate assets. This is paid to the bonding company, not the clerk. |
| Appraisement and settlement forms | $12.00 when filed, current as of August 2026. The appraisement is required by W. Va. Code § 44-1-14. |
| Notice to creditors publication | $20.00, current as of August 2026, under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a(g). |
| Probate claim | $12.00 for the first five pages, effective March 1, 2025. Creditor claims are part of the W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a notice and claim process. |
| Probate release | $12.00 for the first five pages, effective May 8, 2025. |
| Final settlement filing | $12.00, plus $1.00 for each page after five, current as of August 2026. Final settlement proceeds under W. Va. Code § 44-2, and a waiver of final settlement is governed by W. Va. Code § 44-2-29. |
| Fiduciary commissioner | If the estate is referred to a fiduciary commissioner under W. Va. Code § 44-3, the commissioner's fee is charged to the estate. In article 2 practice, W. Va. Code § 44-2-1(a) caps that fee at $300 plus expenses, current as of August 2026, unless the personal representative agrees to more or the county commission has adopted a schedule under W. Va. Code § 59-1-9. |
Timeline
- Within 30 days from the death, Cabell says the estate should be opened, and if there is no will, only an heir may be appointed during that first 30 days under W. Va. Code § 44-1-4.
- Before the appointment, complete Cabell's March 2025 appointment packet and return it by mail or email to [email protected].
- At the appointment, Cabell says the initial visit takes about twenty to thirty minutes. Bring the original will, a death certificate, the decedent's Social Security number, photo identification, heir and beneficiary addresses, the completed worksheet, and the fees.
- After qualification, file the appraisement within 90 days under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14 and the nonprobate inventory under W. Va. Code § 11-11-7. Cabell describes these as the appraisement and settlement forms.
- After the appraisement is returned, Cabell says a mandatory 60-day period must pass for claims. The creditor claim period runs from first publication under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a.
- After the claims period, Cabell says an estate with no pending claims may close by waiver of final settlement under W. Va. Code § 44-2-29 or by final accounting under W. Va. Code § 44-2.
- If the estate is referred to a fiduciary commissioner under W. Va. Code § 44-3, Cabell says the process takes about 30 more days. In article 2 practice, W. Va. Code § 44-2-1 includes the $200,000 referral threshold, current as of August 2026.
- The Cabell County Commission, which holds probate jurisdiction under W. Va. Code § 7-1-3, publishes regular sessions on the second and fourth Thursdays of each month at 10:00 a.m. in the courthouse commission chambers. The clerk's action is confirmed by the commission under W. Va. Code § 41-5-10, but Cabell does not publish a promise that any particular estate will be on a particular agenda.
Local nuance
Cabell County-specific considerations
| Local point | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Probate stays inside the County Clerk's office | Cabell does not publish a separate fiduciary department. Use the Cabell County Clerk's probate line, (304) 526-8627, and the probate mailbox, [email protected]. |
| Appointment first, with a walk-in window | Cabell says an appointment is necessary to open an estate and publishes a 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. walk-in window. The county's pages differ slightly on appointment hours, so confirm the time when you call. |
| Cabell starts the paperwork before you arrive | The county asks you to return its appointment worksheet before the appointment, which is why it can say the initial visit takes about twenty to thirty minutes. |
| A real estate bond is available | Cabell accepts a real estate bond from a property owner surety, ideally with Cabell County real estate. If the property is in another county, Cabell asks for a justification of surety from that county clerk. Bond is governed by W. Va. Code § 44-1-8. |
| The clerk publishes, but you mail notices | Cabell publishes the notice to creditors and the notice to close the estate, with the $20.00 publication fee current as of August 2026 under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a(g). Cabell then tells the executor or administrator to supply the notice to heirs, beneficiaries, and known creditors under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a. |
| Two 2025 claim-document changes | Cabell charges $12.00 for the first five pages of a probate claim effective March 1, 2025, and $12.00 for the first five pages of a probate release effective May 8, 2025. |
| The clerk publishes an estates index | Cabell's online county clerk index includes an estates index with wills, appraisements under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14, probate appointments, estate claims under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a, and fiduciary orders under W. Va. Code § 44-3. Coverage and image access are not stated, so use the Record Room for help. |
| Some out-of-state real estate filings can be mailed | Cabell's appointment packet says ancillary administration for a nonresident who owned West Virginia real estate may be done by mail under the routes in W. Va. Code § 44-1-4 and W. Va. Code § 41-5-13. |
Recent updates
| Date | Cabell County update |
|---|---|
| March 1, 2025 | The Cabell County Clerk's office set the fee to file a probate claim at $12.00 for the first five pages and began recording each claim. Creditor claims are part of the W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a process. |
| May 8, 2025 | The Cabell County Clerk's office set the fee to file a probate release at $12.00 for the first five pages and began recording each release. |
| March 2025 | The Cabell County Clerk's office posted its current appointment packet and asks families to complete and return its worksheet before the probate appointment. |
Scenarios
| Scenario | Likely Cabell County path | Where Sunset helps |
|---|---|---|
| Surviving spouse with co-owned home | If the home was held jointly with survivorship, it may not pass through the estate, but Cabell still asks about jointly owned property, and ET 6.02 is the nonprobate inventory under W. Va. Code § 11-11-7. If the house was in the decedent's name alone, call (304) 526-8627, complete the Cabell worksheet, and bring the original will, a death certificate, identification, and heir and beneficiary addresses. Bond is handled under W. Va. Code § 44-1-8. | Sunset helps identify accounts, real estate, and beneficiary-designated assets before the Cabell appointment, so the spouse can complete the worksheet and move the estate settlement forward. |
| Out-of-state adult child with small estate | Call before traveling because Cabell requires an appointment. Cabell publishes an affidavit form for the small estate route under W. Va. Code § 44-1A-2, but the statewide rule under W. Va. Code § 44-1A is that the route is not available if the decedent owned probate real estate after July 9, 2025, and the personal-property limit is $50,000, current as of August 2026 under W. Va. Code § 44-1A-1(b)(4). If appointed, an out-of-state child may need a corporate bond or a West Virginia property owner as surety under W. Va. Code § 44-1-8. If the decedent lived out of state but owned West Virginia real estate, Cabell says ancillary administration may be done by mail. | Sunset helps find accounts and values before deciding whether the W. Va. Code § 44-1A small estate route is possible or whether a full Cabell appointment is needed. |
| Parent settling predeceased child's estate, home must be sold | Because probate real estate is involved, the small estate route under W. Va. Code § 44-1A-2 is not the path after July 9, 2025. The parent calls Cabell's probate line, completes the worksheet, and qualifies through the County Clerk. Cabell says bond under W. Va. Code § 44-1-8 equals the value of probate assets and excludes real estate unless the real estate is being sold. Cabell also warns that banks and title attorneys may require the probate steps to be completed and the estate closed before sale money is released. | Sunset helps organize real estate, accounts, debts, and heirs, then helps the family prepare for the appointment and decide whether a Cabell attorney is needed for the sale and estate settlement. |
Self-help resources
| Resource | What it provides | Contact |
|---|---|---|
| Cabell County Clerk's office, probate | Appointments to open an estate, the appointment packet, the appraisement under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14, the nonprobate inventory under W. Va. Code § 11-11-7, the creditor claim form under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a, the affidavit for small estate under W. Va. Code § 44-1A-2, and the declination to act form. | (304) 526-8627. [email protected]. 750 5th Avenue, Suite 108, Huntington, WV 25701. Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., appointment required, walk-in window 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. |
| Cabell County Clerk's Record Room and online index | Recorded wills and probate documents, including an estates index with wills, appraisements under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14, claims under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a, and fiduciary orders under W. Va. Code § 44-3. | (304) 526-9820. [email protected]. Online index: http://www.recordscabellcountyclerk.org/ |
| Legal Aid of West Virginia, Huntington office | Free civil legal help for people who qualify. The Huntington office serves Cabell, Mason, and Wayne counties, and Legal Aid says applicants should apply by phone or online first. | Apply by phone at 866-255-4370. Huntington office: 418 8th Street, 2nd Floor, Huntington, WV 25701. Local phone: 304-697-2070. Toll-free office line: 866-313-6129. |
| West Virginia State Bar Lawyer Referral Service | Referral to a local lawyer. The service publishes a 30-minute consultation for $25 or less, current as of August 2026, and a free Tuesday evening hotline staffed by volunteer lawyers. | Hotline: (800) 642-3617, Tuesday 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. Website: https://wvlawyerreferral.org/ |
| West Virginia Free Legal Answers | Online civil legal questions for people who qualify. Volunteer West Virginia lawyers answer by email, and the service does not promise an answer before an existing deadline. | Online only: https://wv.freelegalanswers.org/ |
| Cabell County Commission | The body with probate jurisdiction under W. Va. Code § 7-1-3. It appoints fiduciary commissioners under W. Va. Code § 44-3 and confirms the clerk's probate actions under W. Va. Code § 41-5-10. | Cabell County Courthouse, 750 5th Avenue, Huntington, WV 25701. Regular sessions are published for the second and fourth Thursdays of each month at 10:00 a.m. |
When to hire an attorney
Cabell's own estate FAQ says a lawyer is not required and is mainly needed if there are disputes among heirs or if you want assistance. Counsel makes sense if someone may contest the will under W. Va. Code § 41-5-11, if there is an appeal under W. Va. Code § 58-3-1, if the estate is referred to a fiduciary commissioner under W. Va. Code § 44-3, if real estate must be sold, if a handwritten will requires witness issues, or if bond under W. Va. Code § 44-1-8 is hard to arrange from out of state. Sunset connects families with a vetted probate attorney.
How Sunset helps
Find the accounts and assets. Cabell's worksheet, ET 6.01 under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14, and ET 6.02 under W. Va. Code § 11-11-7 all depend on knowing what the person owned. Sunset helps families find accounts, insurance, investments, and property details before the Cabell appointment.
Generate the probate packet. Sunset helps turn the asset list, heirs, beneficiaries, debts, and institution details into organized information for the Cabell appointment packet and the next steps in estate settlement.
Find a local probate attorney. If the estate involves a disputed will under W. Va. Code § 41-5-11, an appeal under W. Va. Code § 58-3-1, a fiduciary commissioner under W. Va. Code § 44-3, a bond issue under W. Va. Code § 44-1-8, or real estate that must be sold, Sunset can connect the family with a vetted Cabell County probate attorney.
Sunset is free for families. Families can use Sunset to organize the estate settlement, prepare for the Cabell County Clerk appointment, and understand which local next step comes first without paying Sunset.
Frequently asked questions
Where do I file probate in Cabell County?
File with the Cabell County Clerk's office at the Cabell County Courthouse, 750 5th Avenue, Suite 108, Huntington, WV 25701. The clerk's estate FAQ directs probate appointments to room 106. The Cabell County Commission has probate jurisdiction under W. Va. Code § 7-1-3, and the clerk admits the will under W. Va. Code § 41-5-10.
Do I need an appointment to open an estate in Cabell County?
Yes. Cabell says an appointment is necessary to open an estate. Call the probate line at (304) 526-8627. The county also publishes a walk-in window from 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., but you should confirm the appointment time when you call.
What does it cost to open an estate in Cabell County?
Cabell publishes, current as of August 2026, a $37.00 appointment fee, $12.00 to record the first five pages of the will, $1.00 for each additional page, $2.50 for each letters of administration, $12.00 if bond is required under W. Va. Code § 44-1-8, $12.00 when the appraisement under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14 is filed, $12.00 at final settlement under W. Va. Code § 44-2, and a $20.00 publication fee under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a(g). There is no statewide probate filing fee under W. Va. Code § 59-1-10.
What should I bring to my Cabell County probate appointment?
Bring the original will, a death certificate, the decedent's Social Security number, photo identification, the names and addresses of beneficiaries and heirs, the completed Cabell appointment worksheet, and the fees. If the will was probated in another state, Cabell asks for an authenticated copy with triple certification.
How long does probate take in Cabell County?
Cabell says the initial appointment takes about twenty to thirty minutes. After qualification, the appraisement is due within 90 days under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14, and Cabell describes a mandatory 60-day creditor claim period under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a. If the estate is referred to a fiduciary commissioner under W. Va. Code § 44-3, Cabell says that adds about 30 days.
Do I have to post a bond in Cabell County?
Bond is governed by W. Va. Code § 44-1-8. Cabell publishes that bond is necessary when there is no will, when the person appointed is not named in the will to serve, or when the will has no bond clause. Cabell accepts a real estate bond or a corporate bond, and its March 2025 packet says the corporate bond premium begins at $100.00 based on probate assets.
Can I look up a Cabell County estate online?
Cabell publishes an online county clerk index that includes an estates index with wills, appraisements under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14, probate appointments, estate claims under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a, and fiduciary orders under W. Va. Code § 44-3. Coverage and image access are not stated. The Record Room can help at (304) 526-9820. WVPASS searches circuit court records and would show a will contest under W. Va. Code § 41-5-11 filed in the Circuit Court of Cabell County, not the estate file.
Can I file a Cabell County estate online?
No. West Virginia has no e-filing for probate with the Cabell County Clerk. Estate papers are filed on paper with the Cabell County Clerk, although Cabell asks you to return its appointment worksheet by mail or email to [email protected] before the appointment.
Does Cabell County have its own probate forms?
Yes. The Cabell County Clerk's office publishes an appointment packet, the estate appraisement under W. Va. Code § 44-1-14, the nonprobate inventory under W. Va. Code § 11-11-7, a creditor claim form tied to W. Va. Code § 44-1-14a, an affidavit for small estate under W. Va. Code § 44-1A-2, and a declination to act.
Do I have to travel to Huntington if I live out of state?
Call (304) 526-8627 first because an appointment is required. Cabell says ancillary administration for a nonresident who owned West Virginia real estate may be done by mail under W. Va. Code § 44-1-4 and W. Va. Code § 41-5-13. If you are being appointed, ask about bond under W. Va. Code § 44-1-8 before you travel.
Shaped by the families we've helped
Thank you to the thousands of families who have trusted Sunset to help settle their loved ones' estates. This page is shaped by the questions they actually asked and the obstacles they actually hit — and that hard-won experience is what keeps it accurate, current, and genuinely useful to the families who come next.