Back to Texas

Kent County, TX Probate Information

Quick facts

CategoryCurrent rules
CourtThe Kent County Court, the constitutional county court, presided over by the elected County Judge, who need not be a lawyer. Because Kent County has no statutory probate court and no county court at law, the county court has original jurisdiction of probate proceedings under the Texas Estates Code (§ 32.002(a)). Government Code Chapter 25, which creates every statutory probate court and county court at law in Texas, contains no Kent County entry at all. The county names the County Judge as the Honorable Layne Coulter, P. O. Box 6, 101 Main Street, Jayton, telephone (806) 237-3373 (verified July 2026)
Filing officeThe Kent County Clerk, who is the clerk of the county court (Texas Constitution article V, § 20). Estates, wills and guardianships are filed with the County Clerk. In Kent County one officer holds both clerkships: the county publishes the County Clerk as Craig Harrison with the footnote that he also serves as Kent County's 39th Judicial District Clerk, and the 39th District Clerk page carries the mirror footnote (verified July 2026). That arrangement is the one Government Code § 51.501(a) provides for the smallest counties, which elect a single clerk to perform the duties of the district clerk and the county clerk unless the voters keep the offices separate (§ 51.501(b)). An estate is still opened on the county court side, with the County Clerk
CourthouseKent County Courthouse, 101 N. Main Street, Jayton, TX 79528. The County Clerk lists the street address as 101 Main Street and the county's courthouse block gives 101 N Main St. It is one building: Kent County publishes no annex, branch or satellite filing counter. The county publishes no room, suite or floor number for the clerk's counter
Mailing addressKent County Clerk, P.O. Box 9, Jayton, TX 79528. Note that the County Judge uses a different box, P. O. Box 6, so filings and judge's correspondence are not interchangeable. Call before mailing an original will
Phone(806) 237-3881 for the Kent County Clerk, the office that takes probate filings. (806) 237-3373 reaches the Kent County Courthouse generally and the County Judge's office. Both numbers are published by the county (verified July 2026). Kent County publishes no separate probate desk or extension
Fax(806) 237-2300 for the Kent County Clerk. The County Judge publishes a separate fax, (806) 237-2632
Email[email protected], the address the county publishes for the County Clerk (verified July 2026). It is the individual officeholder's mailbox rather than a departmental one, so it can go stale when the office changes hands; the phone line is the more durable route
Office hoursNot published. Kent County publishes no counter hours, no lunch closure and no filing cutoff for the County Clerk on its clerk page, its contact page or its homepage, and this page does not invent any. Call (806) 237-3881 before travelling to Jayton, and ask about the cutoff for same-day filing
Filing fee$360.00 to open a probate case, which is the statewide statutory base fee and is the same in every Texas county: a $223 local consolidated fee (Local Government Code § 135.102(a)(1)) plus a $137 state consolidated fee (Local Government Code § 133.151(a)(1)). Those amounts took effect January 1, 2022 under S.B. 41 and both sections have since been amended. Kent County's own probate cost code list, headed "ACTIVE DETAIL COST CODE LIST FOR 04/25/2024", prints the same total for a probate original petition and itemises it fund by fund. Service, posting and publication charges are on top: see the fee section below
Local formsNone. Texas has no comprehensive set of probate procedure forms, and Kent County publishes no probate form, no checklist, no cover sheet, no instruction sheet and no small estate affidavit template. The county has no probate page at all. The application, the proof of death and other facts, the proposed order, the oath and the inventory are drafted by you or your attorney
E-filingMandatory for attorneys. Attorney electronic filing in probate cases is required in the constitutional county courts by Supreme Court of Texas Misc. Docket No. 13-9164, and the phase-in reached the smallest Texas counties on July 1, 2016, so every Texas county has been covered since that date at the latest. Filing is through eFileTexas.gov. Kent County publishes no county e-filing notice and no county effective date of its own. Under the statewide rule an unrepresented party may e-file but is not required to (Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 21(f)(1)); Kent publishes nothing either way about paper or mailed filings from a self-represented filer, so call the County Clerk at (806) 237-3881 and ask what the office will accept
Case searchNone. Kent County runs no online probate case search and no online records portal of any kind; the only external records link on the county's site is the Kent County Appraisal District, which is property tax rather than court records. Documents e-filed in a Kent County probate case may be reachable through the statewide re:SearchTX portal, which requires free registration, charges for documents ($1.00 for a document of 1 to 10 pages and $0.10 per page after that, per its own FAQ), and states that it provides an unofficial copy and that the clerk of the court is the official custodian of the records. Coverage is set county by county and Kent's is not published, so records are requested from the Kent County Clerk
Remote appearanceNothing published. Kent County publishes no hearing schedule, no docket time and no telephone or video appearance rule for probate. Ask the County Clerk at (806) 237-3881 what the County Judge allows before assuming a trip to Jayton can be avoided
Websitehttps://www.co.kent.tx.us/page/kent.CountyClerk (the Kent County Clerk). The county's fee documents are at https://www.co.kent.tx.us/page/kent.Fees, and the probate cost code list itself is at https://www.co.kent.tx.us/upload/page/11748/2024%20County%20Probate%20Fees.PDF

Before you begin — know the assets and liabilities

Before you file anything in Jayton, know what is actually in the estate and what it owes. Which Texas route fits, and whether a court-supervised administration is needed at all, turns on whether there is a will, who the distributees are, what the assets are worth, and whether there are unpaid debts. Those routes are set by state statute and are identical in all 254 Texas counties; they are explained on the Texas state page. Getting the answer before your first filing matters more than usual in a county this size, because Kent County publishes no probate instructions, no forms and no hearing calendar. There is no local checklist to catch a wrong choice, and correcting one means a second filing fee.

Identify every bank and credit union account, retirement plan, brokerage holding, life insurance policy, vehicle, mineral or royalty interest and parcel of Kent County or out-of-county real property, along with every debt, before you apply. Mineral and royalty interests deserve particular attention in this part of Texas, because they are easy to miss and they are the kind of asset that later forces a family back to the courthouse. How each asset is titled decides whether it passes through the estate at all: survivorship accounts, accounts with a named beneficiary and land covered by a recorded transfer on death deed pass outside the estate and never reach the county court. Sunset's asset-discovery work, searching more than 2,300 financial institutions, exists for exactly this step, so that the application filed with the Kent County Clerk describes the estate accurately the first time.

Which court handles jurisdiction

The Kent County Courthouse at 101 N. Main Street in Jayton is the single probate filing location for the whole county. There is no branch, satellite or annex counter for estates, and no separate probate desk: the County Clerk's office in the courthouse takes the filing and the County Judge hears it. The court serves every part of the county, including Jayton, Girard, Clairemont and Polar and the ranching country between them; the county's own description notes that Jayton, which became the county seat in 1954, has most of the county's residents.

Venue is straightforward for a Kent County resident: you file in the county where the decedent lived, if the decedent had a domicile or fixed place of residence in Texas (Estates Code § 33.001(a)(1)). If the person lived in Kent County, the case belongs in the Kent County Court, even if the death occurred in a hospital outside the county, in Lubbock, Abilene, Snyder or Sweetwater. For a decedent with no Texas domicile or fixed residence, venue depends on where the death happened and where the estate or the nearest of kin are (§ 33.001(a)(2)).

Which court hears the case is the fact most often gotten wrong on a small Texas county. Kent County has no statutory probate court and no county court at law, so the Kent County Court, the constitutional county court, has original jurisdiction of probate proceedings (Estates Code § 32.002(a)), and the elected County Judge presides. Government Code Chapter 25, the chapter that creates every statutory probate court and every county court at law in Texas, contains no Kent County provision at all, which is what makes § 32.002(a) rather than § 32.002(b) the governing subsection here. The only other trial court that sits in the county is the 39th District Court, which does not open estates.

If a matter in the proceeding becomes contested, the case does not stay with the County Judge by default. Under Estates Code § 32.003(a), in a county with no statutory probate court and no county court at law exercising original probate jurisdiction, when a matter in a probate proceeding is contested the judge of the county court may, on the judge's own motion, or shall, on the motion of any party to the proceeding, either request the assignment of a statutory probate court judge to hear the contested matter (Government Code § 25.0022) or transfer the contested matter to the district court, which may then hear it as if originally filed there. Three details matter in practice. A party's motion for assignment of a statutory probate court judge beats a transfer: if it is filed before the county judge transfers the matter, the county judge shall grant it and may not transfer the case unless the motion is withdrawn (§ 32.003(b)). A party may file that motion before anything becomes contested, and it takes effect if the matter later does (§ 32.003(c)). And the county court keeps the rest of the case: if only the contested matter is assigned out or transferred, the county court continues to exercise jurisdiction over the management of the estate until the contested matter is finally disposed of (§ 32.003(g)), and the matter returns to the county court when it is resolved.

The district court that a transfer would reach is the 39th District Court, and its geography is worth knowing before anyone files a motion. The 39th Judicial District is composed of Haskell, Kent, Stonewall and Throckmorton counties (Government Code § 24.141(a)), and the statute sets the court's terms county by county: in Kent County they begin on the ninth Monday after the first Monday in January and on the first Monday in September (§ 24.141(b)(2)). The county names the 39th District Judge as the Honorable Shane Hadaway, whose chambers are at the county courthouse at 1 Avenue D in Haskell, about fifty miles east of Jayton (verified July 2026). A district judge who sits in four counties on a statutory term calendar is not on call in Jayton, which is a practical reason to look closely at the assignment route in § 32.003(a)(1) rather than assuming a transfer is the faster path.

The jurisdiction process

  1. Confirm the route and gather the documents. Collect the original signed will if there is one, a certified copy of the death certificate, the names and addresses of the people who inherit, and a list of assets and debts with values. A person named in a will to settle the estate is an executor; a person appointed by the court where there is no will, or where no named executor qualifies, is an administrator; the Texas Estates Code's umbrella term for either is personal representative. The Kent County Clerk issues certified death certificates and its general cost code list prices a certified death certificate at $21.00 and a certified copy of a county record at $6.00, being a $5.00 certification plus $1.00 per page (Kent County cost code list dated April 25, 2024).
  2. Draft the papers yourself or with an attorney. Texas has no comprehensive set of probate procedure forms and Kent County publishes none of its own, so the application, the proof of death and other facts, the proposed order, the oath and the inventory are drafted documents, not fill-in forms. Style the case in the Kent County Court, the constitutional county court, and not in a probate court or a county court at law: Kent County has neither, and a caption naming a court the county does not have is an avoidable reason for a rejection.
  3. Call the Kent County Clerk at (806) 237-3881 before you file. This step is optional in a metropolitan county and close to essential here, because Kent County publishes no probate instructions, no counter hours, no filing cutoff and no hearing calendar. Ask what the office needs with a new probate application, how the County Judge sets a hearing, whether the clerk will accept a paper filing from an unrepresented filer, and what the current total cost is.
  4. E-file the application through eFileTexas.gov. Attorneys must e-file in probate cases in the constitutional county courts under Supreme Court of Texas Misc. Docket No. 13-9164, and the mandate has covered the smallest Texas counties since July 1, 2016. Kent County publishes no county e-filing notice of its own, so the statewide rule is the rule: an unrepresented party may e-file but is not required to (Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 21(f)(1)). If you are filing without a lawyer, confirm with the clerk what the office will take before you print anything.
  5. Deliver the original will to the County Clerk within three business days. This is statewide and there is no electronic substitute: when a party electronically files an application to probate a document as an original will, the original will must be filed with the clerk within three business days after the application is filed (Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 21(f)(12)), and the clerk must retain an original will filed for probate in a numbered file folder (Rule 21(f)(13)). Take or send the wet-ink original to the Kent County Clerk, P.O. Box 9, Jayton, TX 79528, or to the courthouse at 101 N. Main Street. A filed will must remain in the custody of the county clerk unless the court orders otherwise (Estates Code § 256.053).
  6. Pay the filing fee. It is $360.00 to open the case, and Kent County's own cost code list prints that figure for a probate original petition and shows the arithmetic: a $137.00 state consolidated fee plus thirteen local funds totalling $223.00 (Local Government Code § 135.102(a)(1) and § 133.151(a)(1)). Service and posting are extra: the county's list prices sheriff posting of citation at $10.00 and personal service of citation at $75.00. A filer who cannot afford the cost files a Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs, the statewide form required by Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 145, and the court must waive the electronic filing fee for a person it determines is indigent (Government Code § 72.031(f)).
  7. Have the citation issued and posted, and let the clerk tell you when the County Judge will hear the case. In Texas the clerk issues citation on an application to probate a will or for letters and the sheriff posts it, which is what the county's posting and service charges pay for. Nothing is heard until the posting period has run and the return is on file. Kent County publishes no docket day, no docket time and no filing-to-hearing interval, so ask the clerk rather than assuming one.
  8. Attend the hearing. Kent County publishes nothing about telephone or video appearances for probate, so plan on appearing in person at the courthouse in Jayton unless the County Judge's office tells you otherwise. Bring the proposed proof of death and other facts, the proposed order, the proposed oath and a copy of the death certificate with you, and ask the clerk in advance whether the judge wants those documents filed ahead of the hearing or carried in.
  9. Collect the letters. On an admitted will the court grants Letters Testamentary to a qualifying executor before the 21st day after the will is probated (Estates Code § 306.001); where there is no will, or no named executor qualifies, it grants Letters of Administration (§ 306.002), and the court may not grant an administration unless a necessity for it exists (§ 306.002(b)). Kent County's cost code list prices letters at $2.00 each, which matches the statutory per-document fee the county clerk collects (Local Government Code § 118.061), so order enough sets for every bank, transfer agent and title company the estate has to deal with.
  10. Administer the estate and file what the statute requires. The steps that follow are set by state statute and apply the same way in every Texas county: notice to beneficiaries not later than the 60th day after an order admitting a will (§ 308.002), with proof filed by the 90th day (§ 308.004); published notice to creditors within one month of receiving letters (§ 308.051); notice to secured creditors within two months (§ 308.053); and the inventory, appraisement and list of claims, which must be filed with the court clerk before the 91st day after the personal representative qualifies unless the court grants longer (§ 309.051(a)), or an affidavit in lieu of it where an independent executor has no unpaid debts beyond secured debts, taxes and administration expenses (§ 309.056). File all of it with the Kent County Clerk. One point deserves a local question: the published creditor notice runs in a newspaper of general circulation in the county, but where the county has none the notice must instead be posted, with the return made and filed as the Estates Code otherwise requires (§ 308.051(c)). Ask the clerk which applies in Kent County. Where the estate is run as an independent administration, the court's involvement after the appointment order and the inventory is deliberately minimal (Estates Code chapters 401 to 405, § 402.001).

Forms and documents

Probate forms in Kent County

Kent County publishes no local probate forms. There is no county application to probate a will, no county order, no county oath, no county cover sheet, no county small estate affidavit template and no county probate instruction sheet. Kent County has no probate page on its website at all: its County Clerk page carries the office's address, phone, fax and email and a link to the county's fee documents, and nothing else. Texas as a whole has no comprehensive set of probate procedure forms either. The Texas Judicial Branch forms page carries only will forms, a transfer on death deed kit and civil forms in this area, and the Supreme Court of Texas has not promulgated a small estate affidavit form or a muniment of title form under Government Code § 22.020(b)(1), even though that section has directed it to consider doing so since 2015 (the routes themselves are Estates Code chapters 205 and 257). In practice this means the application, the proof of death and other facts, the proposed order, the oath and the inventory in a Kent County estate are drafted documents.

What Kent County does publish, and what is genuinely unusual for a county this small, is precise fee data. Its Clerk Fees page carries four cost code lists, one of them dedicated to probate, and each is headed with the date it was printed. The probate list runs 35 cost codes over five pages and gives the fund-by-fund breakdown of the $360.00 filing fee, which very few Texas counties of any size publish. Read it before you file, but read it with the caution in the fee section below: the same document retains an older set of cost codes from before the statutory fees were consolidated on January 1, 2022.

One further caution about the county's documents. The cost code PDFs are scanned images with no machine-readable text layer, so a reader using a screen reader or a search tool will not find figures inside them, and the figures quoted on this page were read off the page images. The one genuinely statewide procedural form a Kent County filer may need is the Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs, published on the Texas Judicial Branch forms page and required by Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 145.

ResourceWhat it provides
Kent County Clerk Fees (co.kent.tx.us)The county's fee page, linking four cost code lists: County Probate Fees, District Civil Fees, Recording Fees and Official Public Records, and General Fees
Kent County probate cost code list, dated April 25, 2024 (co.kent.tx.us)The county's own itemised probate charges: the $360.00 probate original petition with its state and thirteen local components, the $120.00 subsequent action, posting and personal service of citation, letters, certification, oaths and bond approval. Scanned image with no text layer
Kent County general cost code list, dated April 25, 2024 (co.kent.tx.us)The clerk's non-probate charges a probate filer still needs: certified death certificate $21.00, certified copy $6.00 ($5.00 certification plus $1.00 per page), non-certified copies $1.00 per page, record search $5.00 and returned check fee $25.00
Kent County Clerk (co.kent.tx.us)The filing office: street and mailing address, phone, fax and email, and confirmation that the same officer serves as County Clerk and as 39th Judicial District Clerk
Texas Judicial Branch court forms (txcourts.gov)The statewide forms that do exist, including the Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs required by Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 145, and the Supreme Court of Texas will forms. There is no statewide application, order, oath or inventory form

Fees

Kent County publishes better fee detail than almost any Texas county of its size. Its Clerk Fees page carries a probate cost code list headed "KENT COUNTY ACTIVE DETAIL COST CODE LIST FOR 04/25/2024", which prints not just the total to open a probate case but the exact fund-by-fund allocation behind it, and the totals match the statute to the dollar. The figures below were read from that document and from the county's general cost code list of the same date, and are verified as of July 2026. Confirm the current total with the Kent County Clerk at (806) 237-3881 before you file.

ItemAmountAuthority or source
Opening a probate case$360.00The statewide statutory base fee, identical in every Texas county: a $223 local consolidated fee (Local Government Code § 135.102(a)(1)) plus a $137 state consolidated fee (§ 133.151(a)(1)). Those amounts took effect January 1, 2022 under S.B. 41 and both sections have since been amended. Kent County's cost code list prints the identical total for a probate original petition
How Kent County itemises that $360.00$137.00 state plus $223.00 localThe county's own breakdown, from its probate cost code list dated April 25, 2024: state consolidated fee $137.00; then clerk of the court account $40.00, county law library fund $35.00, court reporter services fund $25.00, court facility fee fund $20.00, courthouse security fund $20.00, court initiated guardianship fund $20.00, records management and preservation fund $15.00, county dispute resolution fund $15.00, county jury fund $10.00, public probate administrator fund $10.00, appellate judicial system fund $5.00, judicial education and support fund $5.00 and language access fund $3.00, which sum to $223.00. These are allocations of the single consolidated fee, not extra charges: the percentages are set by Local Government Code § 135.102(b)
Later contested or adverse probate action$120.00$75 under Local Government Code § 135.102(a)(2) plus $45 under § 133.151(a)(2), for an action other than the original application, including an adverse probate action or a contest. Kent County's list prints the same total for a probate subsequent action, itemised as a $45.00 state consolidated fee plus $40.00, $20.00, $10.00 and $5.00 in local funds
Sheriff posting of citation$10.00Kent County's probate cost code list dated April 25, 2024. Sheriff and constable service and posting fees are set by the commissioners court, which may not set them higher than is necessary to pay the expenses of providing the service (Local Government Code § 118.131)
Personal service of citation$75.00Kent County's probate cost code list dated April 25, 2024, again a commissioners-court service charge under Local Government Code § 118.131. Posted citation is the usual route on an application to probate a will; personal service applies where a party has to be served individually
Letters Testamentary or Letters of Administration$2.00 eachKent County's probate cost code list, matching the statutory per-document fee the county clerk collects (Local Government Code § 118.061). Order enough sets for every institution the estate deals with
Certification and seal, and copies$5.00, $6.00 or $1.00 per pageKent County's lists dated April 25, 2024: certification and seal in a probate matter $5.00; a certified copy of a county record $6.00, being $5.00 certification plus $1.00 per page; non-certified copies $1.00 per page; electronic copies $1.00 for pages 1 to 10 and $0.10 per page after that; and a certified death certificate $21.00. The statutory framework is Local Government Code § 118.060 and § 118.0605
Administering an oath, and approving a bond$2.00 and $5.00Kent County's probate cost code list: administering an oath or affidavit with certificate and seal $2.00, approving or recording a bond $5.00. Both match the statutory county clerk fees in Local Government Code § 118.052
Filing the inventory, or an annual or final account$25.00, but only if it is lateThis is the item most often misreported as a routine probate cost, and it is not one. Kent County's list carries a $25.00 charge for an annual or final account or an inventory and appraisement, but Local Government Code § 118.056(d) provides that the inventory fee "applies only if the instrument is filed after the 90th day after the date the personal representative has qualified to serve or, if the court grants an extension under Section 309.051, Estates Code, after the date of the extended deadline specified by the court". A timely inventory, or an affidavit in lieu of it, carries no clerk fee. The account and application charges under § 118.056(a) and (b) likewise apply only after the inventory-approval order or the 120th day, whichever comes first, so none of them belongs in the budget for a first filing
Electronic filing chargesSet by the vendor, not by Kent CountyFiling through eFileTexas.gov carries the electronic filing service provider's own charge and any card surcharge, on top of the court costs above. Kent County publishes no county electronic filing fee of its own, and there is no longer a separate state electronic filing fee in a county court: the statewide electronic filing system fund is funded out of the $137 state consolidated fee (Local Government Code § 133.151)
If you cannot afford the feeNo costFile a Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs, the statewide form required by Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 145. The court must waive the electronic filing fee for a person it determines is indigent (Government Code § 72.031(f))

One important caution about the county's own document, because it will otherwise mislead you. Alongside the current cost codes, the April 25, 2024 probate list retains an older set of per-proceeding codes whose bundles total between $251.00 and $260.00. Those totals sit below the statutory base fee, and their components are the pre-consolidation items: a separate judicial fund filing charge, a judicial support charge, a law library charge, an indigent legal fund charge, an archive charge, a separate $30.00 electronic filing fee, and a line naming a court records preservation fee under a Government Code provision that no longer exists. The Legislature folded all of those into the two consolidated fees effective January 1, 2022, and the clerk must now collect the consolidated amounts. Treat the older codes as a legacy table in the county's accounting software, use the $360.00 and $120.00 figures, and ask the Kent County Clerk to confirm the total before you send payment.

The base $360.00 is fixed by statute and is the same in all 254 Texas counties, so a figure materially above it is a total that includes service, posting, publication or ad litem items, and a figure materially below it is out of date. What genuinely varies county to county is those add-ons, not the filing fee.

Local nuance

Kent County-specific considerations

One officer holds both clerkships, and it changes how the courthouse feels rather than where you file. Kent County publishes the County Clerk as Craig Harrison with a footnote that he also serves as the county's 39th Judicial District Clerk, and the district clerk page carries the mirror footnote (verified July 2026). This is the arrangement Government Code § 51.501(a) provides for the smallest Texas counties, which elect a single clerk to perform the duties of the district clerk and the county clerk unless the voters vote to keep the offices separate (§ 51.501(b)); § 51.502 has the joint clerk use the county court seal for county court business and the district court seal for district court business. Two practical points follow. An estate is still opened on the county court side, with the Kent County Clerk, at (806) 237-3881: the county court is the probate court in Kent County and the district court is not. And if a contested matter is later transferred to the 39th District Court, the file changes courts without changing offices, because the same officer clerks both.

The county's fee document is unusually good and partly out of date at the same time. Kent County's probate cost code list, headed with the date it was printed, April 25, 2024, gives the fund-by-fund breakdown of the $360.00 filing fee that most Texas counties never publish, and its totals match Local Government Code § 135.102 and § 133.151 exactly. It also retains an older block of cost codes that predate the January 1, 2022 consolidation of those fees, including a separate $30.00 electronic filing fee that is no longer charged in a county court and a court records preservation line citing a Government Code provision that has been repealed. Both things are true of one document. Use the $360.00 figure, ignore the legacy bundles, and confirm with the clerk.

There is no probate page, no local form and no published counter hours, so the phone is the process. Kent County's website has a County Clerk page, a fee page and nothing else touching estates: no probate instructions, no docket day, no docket time, no e-filing notice, no filing cutoff, no hours, and no online case search or records portal of any kind. That is not a gap in this page's research; it is the county's actual publishing posture, and it means a first-time filer should call (806) 237-3881 before drafting anything. Ask what the office needs with a new application, how the County Judge sets a hearing, whether the clerk will accept a paper filing from someone without a lawyer, and whether proposed orders should be filed in advance or brought to the hearing.

A contested matter leaves the county, in practice if not in law. Kent County has no statutory probate court and no county court at law, so a contested matter goes either to an assigned statutory probate court judge or to the district court (Estates Code § 32.003(a)). The district court is the 39th, which covers Haskell, Kent, Stonewall and Throckmorton counties (Government Code § 24.141(a)) and whose terms in Kent County begin on the ninth Monday after the first Monday in January and on the first Monday in September (§ 24.141(b)(2)). The county names the 39th District Judge as the Honorable Shane Hadaway, sitting at the county courthouse at 1 Avenue D in Haskell (verified July 2026). Because a four-county district judge on a term calendar is not resident in Jayton, the assignment route in § 32.003(a)(1) is worth weighing seriously, and the timing rule matters: a motion for assignment of a statutory probate court judge filed before a transfer must be granted and blocks the transfer unless it is withdrawn (§ 32.003(b)). Whichever route is taken, the Kent County Court keeps management of the rest of the estate until the contested matter is disposed of (§ 32.003(g)).

Ask about the creditor notice before you assume a newspaper. The published notice to creditors normally runs in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the letters were issued (Estates Code § 308.051(a)(1)), but the statute anticipates a county without one: "if there is no newspaper of general circulation in the county, the notice must be posted and the return made and filed as otherwise required by this title" (§ 308.051(c)). Kent County publishes nothing about local publication, so this page does not state which applies. It is a real question at this county size and the Kent County Clerk is the office to answer it, because getting the notice wrong exposes the personal representative and the sureties to liability for the resulting damage (§ 308.056).

Recent updates

ChangeWhat it means in Kent County
Kent County's probate cost code list is dated April 25, 2024The county's Clerk Fees page publishes four cost code lists, each dated 04/25/2024 in its printed heading; the probate list is headed "ACTIVE DETAIL COST CODE LIST FOR 04/25/2024". The probate list is the county's current fee source and prints the $360.00 probate original petition with its full state and local breakdown, and a $120.00 subsequent action. It also retains an older block of cost codes from before the statutory consolidation of these fees on January 1, 2022, whose bundles total $251.00 to $260.00 and include a separate $30.00 electronic filing fee and a court records preservation line citing a repealed provision. The consolidated amounts control; confirm the total with the County Clerk at (806) 237-3881

Page last reviewed: July 2026.

Scenarios

SituationLikely path in Kent CountyWhere Sunset helps
Surviving spouse, co-owned homeIf the Jayton-area home was held with a right of survivorship or passed under a recorded transfer on death deed, it goes to the survivor outside the estate and the county court is not involved in the house itself. Where other assets stood in the decedent's sole name, the spouse applies in the Kent County Court, the constitutional county court (Estates Code § 32.002(a)), filing with the Kent County Clerk at 101 N. Main Street or P.O. Box 9 in Jayton. The application is e-filed through eFileTexas.gov and the wet-ink original will follows to the clerk within three business days (Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 21(f)(12)). Budget $360.00 for the filing fee (Local Government Code § 135.102(a)(1) and § 133.151(a)(1)) plus the county's $10.00 posting charge, and ask the clerk when the County Judge will hear it, because Kent County publishes no docket calendar.Asset discovery to establish how the home, the accounts and any mineral or royalty interests are titled, and what actually has to reach the court. Packet generation for the Kent County filing, styled in the county court rather than a court the county does not have. A vetted attorney referral if title or a claim turns out to be disputed.
Out-of-state adult child, small estateMuch of this can be done from out of state, but Kent County gives you less to work from than a metropolitan county does. Attorneys must e-file through eFileTexas.gov, and an unrepresented party may e-file but is not required to (Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 21(f)(1)); Kent publishes nothing either way about paper filings, so call the County Clerk at (806) 237-3881 first. Whether a court filing is needed at all depends on the assets and whether there is a will, and those routes are statewide. Two things still require a physical connection to Jayton: the original will must reach the County Clerk within three business days of the application (Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 21(f)(12)), and Kent County publishes no telephone or video appearance rule, so assume the hearing is in person until the clerk says otherwise.Asset discovery to size the estate from out of state and confirm which route fits before anyone books a flight. Packet generation so the filing is accepted the first time, which matters more where there is no county checklist to check it against. Attorney referral where an in-person hearing in Jayton makes local counsel the practical answer.
Parent settling a predeceased child's estate, home must be soldSelling real property means someone needs the authority document, so this goes through an administration in the Kent County Court. The parent applies with the Kent County Clerk, citation is issued and posted (the county's list prices sheriff posting at $10.00 and personal service at $75.00), and at the hearing the court appoints the personal representative and grants Letters of Administration (Estates Code § 306.002), or Letters Testamentary if there is a will (§ 306.001). The court may not grant an administration unless a necessity for it exists, as determined by the court (§ 306.002(b)); beyond the instances the statute lists, the court may find a necessity based on proof before it (§ 306.002(c)), which is the showing an applicant who needs authority to sell estate real property makes. Order the letters at $2.00 each (Local Government Code § 118.061), because the title company will want a recent set. The inventory follows, filed with the County Clerk before the 91st day after the representative qualifies (§ 309.051(a)).Asset discovery for the child's accounts, insurance, vehicles, mineral interests and real property. Packet generation for the administration and the inventory. Attorney referral where a sale, a mortgage payoff or a disagreement among heirs makes counsel worthwhile, which matters more here because a contested matter can be assigned to a statutory probate court judge or transferred to the 39th District Court in Haskell (Estates Code § 32.003).

Self-help resources

ResourceWhat it offers
Kent County Clerk (co.kent.tx.us), (806) 237-3881The filing office for estates in Kent County: the 101 N. Main Street courthouse address, the P.O. Box 9 mailing address, the fax and email, and confirmation that the same officer serves as County Clerk and as 39th Judicial District Clerk. Clerk staff can explain procedure and what the counter needs, but cannot give legal advice. Because the county publishes no hours, call before travelling
Kent County Clerk Fees (co.kent.tx.us)The county's four cost code lists, including the probate list dated April 25, 2024 that itemises the $360.00 filing fee fund by fund and prices posting, personal service, letters, certification, oaths and bond approval
Kent County Judge (co.kent.tx.us), (806) 237-3373The office of the elected County Judge, who presides over the Kent County Court and therefore hears probate matters (Estates Code § 32.002(a)). The county names the judge as the Honorable Layne Coulter and publishes P. O. Box 6 and a fax of (806) 237-2632 (verified July 2026)
eFileTexas.govRegistration for the statewide electronic filing system, the list of certified electronic filing service providers, and filing instructions. This is where a Kent County probate application is filed
re:SearchTX (research.txcourts.gov)The statewide court records portal, run by the Office of Court Administration with Tyler Technologies. Free registration is required, documents are charged for, and the portal states that it provides an unofficial copy and that the clerk of the court is the official custodian. Coverage is set county by county, and Kent's is not published, so confirm anything important with the Kent County Clerk
Texas State Law Library probate research guide (guides.sll.texas.gov), (844) 829-2843 toll free in TexasThe strongest government self-help source for Texas probate, from a state agency: general information, probating a will, when there is no will, executors, formal administration, informal methods and legal forms. The library's own caveat is that it cannot tell you what the law means for your situation
TexasCourtHelp.govGeneral information and videos about making your way through the Texas court system, from the Texas Judicial Branch
TexasLawHelp.org, wills, estate planning and probate (texaslawhelp.org)Plain-language Texas probate articles and self-help toolkits from the Texas Legal Services Center, a non-profit. Useful for orientation, and it has a small estate affidavit toolkit and form. It is not a court site and its materials are not court-approved forms
Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas (legalaidtx.org), Legal Aid Line 1-888-529-5277Free civil legal services for eligible low-income Texans. In its own words the program serves "114 counties ... across North and West Texas", and its Lubbock office lists Kent among the thirteen counties it serves. That office is at 1711 Avenue J, Lubbock, TX 79401, (806) 763-4557, Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Decedents' estates are not one of its listed headline practice areas, so ask on the call whether it can take an estate matter
TexasLawHelp legal aid directory (texaslawhelp.org)A second route to legal aid if the Legal Aid Line cannot help: a searchable directory of Texas legal aid providers by location and issue
State Bar of Texas Lawyer Referral and Information Service (texasbar.com), (800) 252-9690Referrals to Texas attorneys, Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Central, Spanish spoken. The initial consultation is capped at $20 for 30 minutes. It is a referral service, not a reduced-fee or pro bono program
Texas law libraries directory (guides.sll.texas.gov)The Texas State Law Library's curated directory of law libraries. It lists no law library in Kent County; the nearest listed are the Lubbock County Law Library, 916 Main Street, Suite 306, Lubbock, (806) 775-1667, and the Taylor County Law Library, 300 Oak Street, Suite 301, Abilene, (915) 674-1395. The directory is curated rather than exhaustive, so contact a library directly about public access
Texas Estates Code (statutes.capitol.texas.gov)The statute itself, including the court structure provisions in chapter 32, venue in chapter 33, letters in chapter 306, notices in chapter 308 and the inventory in chapter 309

When to hire an attorney

Plenty of uncontested Texas estates are handled without a lawyer, but Kent County gives a self-represented filer less scaffolding than most: there is no county probate page, no local form, no instruction sheet, no published docket and no counter hours, so every document is drafted from scratch and every procedural question goes to a phone call. Counsel earns its keep here when a will or an appointment is likely to be challenged, when there is no will and the heirs have to be determined, when real property or a mineral or royalty interest has to be sold or divided, when the estate is insolvent or a creditor is pressing, when a business or out-of-state property is involved, or when a guardianship has to run alongside the estate. The contested-matter route is a second local reason to have a lawyer: if a matter becomes contested, the County Judge may on the judge's own motion, and shall on the motion of any party, request the assignment of a statutory probate court judge or transfer the contested matter to the district court (Estates Code § 32.003(a)), a motion for assignment filed before a transfer must be granted (§ 32.003(b)), and the district court here is the 39th, which sits in four counties on a statutory term calendar with its judge based in Haskell. Those are timing decisions that are easy to miss without counsel. Kent County Clerk staff can explain procedure but cannot give legal advice. Sunset can connect families to a vetted Texas probate attorney serving Kent County and the surrounding South Plains and Rolling Plains counties.

How Sunset helps

Find the accounts and assets. Sunset searches more than 2,300 financial institutions and public records to surface bank and credit union accounts, retirement plans, brokerage holdings, life insurance, Kent County real property, mineral and royalty interests and unclaimed property, so you know what the estate holds and which estate settlement route fits before anything is filed in Jayton.

Generate the probate packet. Sunset assembles the paperwork for your route, styled for the Kent County Court, the constitutional county court, and ready to file with the Kent County Clerk. That matters more in a county that publishes no forms and no instruction sheet of its own.

Find a local probate attorney. When a matter is contested or otherwise calls for counsel, Sunset connects families to a vetted Texas probate attorney serving Kent County.

Sunset is free for families. Revenue comes from bank partners that pay Sunset while estate funds sit in an FDIC-insured estate account ($3M coverage).

Frequently asked questions

Where do I file for probate in Kent County?

With the Kent County Clerk at the Kent County Courthouse, 101 N. Main Street, Jayton, TX 79528, or by mail to P.O. Box 9, Jayton, TX 79528. The case is heard by the Kent County Court, the constitutional county court, presided over by the elected County Judge, because Kent County has no statutory probate court and no county court at law (Estates Code § 32.002(a)). File in Kent County if the decedent lived here and had a domicile or fixed place of residence in Texas (§ 33.001(a)(1)). Style the case in the Kent County Court and not in a probate court or a county court at law, because the county has neither. One local point is worth knowing: Kent County is one of the counties where a single officer holds both clerkships, and the county publishes its County Clerk with a footnote that he also serves as the county's 39th Judicial District Clerk (verified July 2026), the arrangement Government Code § 51.501(a) provides for the smallest counties. An estate is still opened on the county court side, with the County Clerk, at (806) 237-3881.

How much does it cost to file probate in Kent County?

$360.00 to open the case, which is the statewide statutory base fee and is the same in every Texas county: a $223 local consolidated fee (Local Government Code § 135.102(a)(1)) plus a $137 state consolidated fee (§ 133.151(a)(1)), amounts that took effect January 1, 2022 under S.B. 41. Kent County publishes the same total and, unusually, the whole breakdown: its probate cost code list dated April 25, 2024 shows the $137.00 state fee plus thirteen local funds summing to $223.00. On top of that the county prices sheriff posting of citation at $10.00 and personal service at $75.00, and letters at $2.00 each (§ 118.061). A later contested or adverse probate action is $120.00 (§ 135.102(a)(2); § 133.151(a)(2)). If you cannot afford the cost, file a Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs (Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 145). Confirm the current total with the clerk.

Do I owe $25 for filing the inventory in Kent County?

Not if you file it on time. Kent County's cost code list does carry a $25.00 charge for an annual or final account or an inventory and appraisement, but Local Government Code § 118.056(d) provides that the inventory fee applies only where the instrument is filed after the 90th day after the personal representative qualified, or after any extended deadline the court has granted under Estates Code § 309.051. A timely inventory, or an affidavit in lieu of it, costs nothing at the counter. The account and sale-application charges in § 118.056(a) and (b) similarly apply only after the inventory-approval order or the 120th day, whichever comes first, so none of them belongs in the budget for an opening filing.

Is e-filing required for probate in Kent County?

For attorneys, yes. Attorney electronic filing in probate cases in the constitutional county courts is required by Supreme Court of Texas Misc. Docket No. 13-9164, and the phase-in reached the smallest Texas counties on July 1, 2016, so Kent County has been covered since then at the latest. Filing goes through eFileTexas.gov. Kent County publishes no county e-filing notice and no county effective date of its own. Under the statewide rule an unrepresented party may e-file but is not required to (Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 21(f)(1)); Kent publishes nothing about whether it will take a paper or mailed filing from someone without a lawyer, so call the County Clerk at (806) 237-3881 and ask before you print anything.

What do I do with the original will in Kent County?

You e-file a copy of the will with the application, then get the wet-ink original to the County Clerk. The statewide rule is that when a party electronically files an application to probate a document as an original will, the original will must be filed with the clerk within three business days after the application is filed (Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 21(f)(12)), and the clerk must keep an original will filed for probate in a numbered file folder (Rule 21(f)(13)). Deliver or send it to the Kent County Clerk at 101 N. Main Street or P.O. Box 9, Jayton, TX 79528, and call ahead if you are mailing it. A will filed with the application must remain in the county clerk's custody unless the court orders otherwise (Estates Code § 256.053). There is no electronic way to satisfy this.

Are there local probate forms in Kent County?

No. Kent County publishes no probate forms, no checklist, no cover sheet, no instruction sheet and no small estate affidavit template, and it has no probate page on its website. Texas has no comprehensive set of probate procedure forms either, so the application, the proof of death and other facts, the order, the oath and the inventory are drafted documents. What Kent County does publish is fee detail: four cost code lists on its Clerk Fees page, one of them dedicated to probate and dated April 25, 2024.

When is the probate hearing in Kent County, and can I appear remotely?

Kent County publishes no docket day, no docket time, no filing-to-hearing interval and no telephone or video appearance rule for probate, so this page does not state any of them. Nothing is heard until the citation has been posted and the return is on file. Ask the Kent County Clerk at (806) 237-3881 how the County Judge sets hearings, when the next available date is likely to be, whether the judge wants the proposed order, proof of death and oath filed in advance or brought to the hearing, and whether any remote appearance is possible.

How do I look up a Kent County probate case online?

You cannot. Kent County publishes no online probate case search and no online records portal of any kind; the only external records link on the county's site is the Kent County Appraisal District, which is property tax rather than court records. Documents e-filed in a Kent County probate case may be reachable through the statewide re:SearchTX portal, which requires free registration and charges for documents, and which states that it supplies an unofficial copy and that the clerk of the court is the official custodian of the records. Coverage is set county by county and Kent's is not published, so records are requested from the Kent County Clerk at (806) 237-3881.

What happens if someone contests the will in Kent County?

The contest does not necessarily stay with the County Judge. In a county with no statutory probate court and no county court at law, when a matter in a probate proceeding is contested the judge of the county court may, on the judge's own motion, or shall, on the motion of any party, either request the assignment of a statutory probate court judge to hear the contested matter (Government Code § 25.0022) or transfer the contested matter to the district court, which may then hear it as if originally filed there (Estates Code § 32.003(a)). A party's motion for assignment beats a transfer: if it is filed first, the county judge shall grant it and may not transfer the matter unless the motion is withdrawn (§ 32.003(b)), and the motion may be filed before anything becomes contested (§ 32.003(c)). Meanwhile the Kent County Court continues to manage the rest of the estate (§ 32.003(g)). The district court here is the 39th, composed of Haskell, Kent, Stonewall and Throckmorton counties (Government Code § 24.141(a)), whose terms in Kent County begin on the ninth Monday after the first Monday in January and on the first Monday in September (§ 24.141(b)(2)), with its judge seated in Haskell.

Do I have to travel to Jayton to settle an estate in Kent County?

Probably for the hearing, and possibly for the will. Kent County publishes no remote appearance rule for probate, so plan on appearing in person at the courthouse at 101 N. Main Street unless the clerk or the County Judge's office tells you otherwise. The original will has to reach the County Clerk within three business days of the application (Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 21(f)(12)), which can be done by mail to P.O. Box 9 if you call first. Everything else can largely be handled at a distance: applications are e-filed through eFileTexas.gov, and questions go to (806) 237-3881. Call before making the drive, because Kent County publishes no counter hours, no lunch closure and no filing cutoff for the County Clerk anywhere on its site, and this page does not invent any.

Shaped by the families we've helped

Thank you to the thousands of families who have trusted Sunset to help settle their loved ones' estates. This page is shaped by the questions they actually asked and the obstacles they actually hit — and that hard-won experience is what keeps it accurate, current, and genuinely useful to the families who come next.

Filter and Sort